Meet the 2021 Inductees to the Colorado Author’s Hall of Fame

What do Colorado’s Governor Jared Polis, Denver’s Mayor Michael Hancock, and hundreds of fans of the class of 2021 Inductees to the Colorado Authors’ Hall of Fame have in common? They will celebrate the achievements and accomplishments of  the 16 authors being highlighted.

Governor Polis has proclaimed September 18th as Colorado Authors Hall of Fame Day.

Mayor Michael Hancock’s proclamation identifies the 18th as Authors’ Hall of Fame Induction Celebration Day.

The 16 include 4 Legacies: Robert Heinlein, often called the “dean of science fiction writers”, he was among the first to emphasize scientific accuracy in his fiction and became a pioneer of the subgenre of hard science fiction, Pulitzer Prize winning author James Michener, John Edward Williams, Colorado’s only National Book Award recipient, Hannah Marie Wormington, considered to be one of the nation’s top anthropologists. The Hall is also honored to acknowledge the vision and work of Sue Lubeck, who brought the Bookies Bookstore to Colorado … specializing in children literature and opening doors to teachers to bring books and resources to their classrooms. In her memory and work, the Lifetime Achievement award will be given. Members from the Bookies staff will accept on her family’s behalf.

The Hall’s Induction celebration will be held at the Renaissance Denver Central Park Hotel starting at 5.30. All living inductees will be there and will share stores from the stage.

There are few tickets available to the public as of September 14—TODAY is the last day to claim any of them. Info is at The ticket includes dinner. You can buy single tickets or reserve a table of 8 for your party. 

The other inductees into the Hall of Fame are:

  • Kevin J. Anderson: Author of over 170 published books, 58 of which have been national or international bestsellers. He has written numerous novels in the Dune series, Star Wars, X-Files, and Batman/Superman universes, as well as unique steampunk fantasy novels Clockwork Angels and Clockwork Lives, written with legendary rock drummer Neil Peart.
  • Penny Rafferty Hamilton: A world-record setting aviator, she currently focuses on aviation and aerospace. Recently, she authored America’s Amazing Airports, Inspiring Words for Sky and Space Women, and 101 Trailblazing Women of Air and Space. Hamilton earned numerous journalism, education, business, and aviation awards.
  • Justin Matott: A children’s author, notably known for Ol’ Lady Grizelda and I think My Dog Might Be a Nerd. Picked up by Random House after selling 5,000 copies of his self-published children’s book in three weeks, he left the Corporate world to see if he could live the dream of being an author/speaker as his vocation. Millions of his children’s books have been sold across the world.
  • Sandra Dallas: Denver based New York Times best-selling author Sandra Dallas is the author of 16 adult novels, four young reader novels, and 10 nonfiction books. She was dubbed “a quintessential American voice” by Jane Smiley in Vogue Magazine.
  • Carol Fenster: When major New York publishers rejected Colorado authors Carol Fenster’s pioneering work featuring gluten-free cooking strategies and how to eat healthy and happy, it didn’t stop her. She is the pioneer of gluten free cooking.
  • Michael Gear: Professional archaeologist and New York Times bestselling author with 60 novels, 2 short stories, and 82 non-fiction articles in print that have been translated into 29 languages is what brings William Michael Gear to the Hall.
  • Charlotte Hinger: Charlotte Hinger is a multi-published, award-winning author of fiction and nonfiction—long and short, historical, and contemporary—primarily, but not exclusively, focused on the Western experience with an emphasis on the African-American/Black experience in the historical West, primarily in the Great Plains region.
  • Manuel Ramos: Among the first Latinos to publish in the mystery genre and was given the title “the Godfather of Chicano Noir” by the esteemed writer Luis Alberto Urrea. His books are set in the community in which he lives – Denver’s Northside, aka Highlands – and in rural Colorado.
  • Patricia Raybon: Is an award-winning author, essayist, and novelist who writes top-rated books at the daring intersection of faith and race. Her most notable books are My First White Friend: Confessions on Race, Love and Forgiveness and All That Is Secret: An Annalee Spain Mystery.
  • Richard Weissman: one of the most productive and important authors writing about American roots music and the music business. Music Business: Career Opportunities & Self Defense has sold over 100,000 copies and used in many college music programs. His work was among the earliest books written about the music business.
  • Flint Whitlock: He’s been the Editor of the WWII Quarterly magazine since 2010. The Smithsonian, National Geographic, Colorado National Guard, and other groups is honored to have him as a battlefield tour guide. His notable books include Soldiers on Skis: A Pictorial Memoir of the 10th Mountain Division and The Beasts of Buchenwald: Karl & Ilse Koch, Human-Skin Lampshades, and the War-Crimes Trial of the Century.
  • “Avi”: Avi is the author of more than seventy books for children and young adults, including the 2003 Newbery medal winner Crispin: The Cross of Lead. He has won two Newbery Honors and many other awards for his fiction.

The Colorado Authors’ Hall of Fame is the first in the nation to recognize and celebrate the breadth of work that authors brought forth. Other Hall of Fame inductions are planned for authors in Texas and Arizona.

About Colorado Authors’ Hall of Fame®

Authors’ Hall of Fame® strives to educate the people of Colorado and the country about the stories of the authors who shaped their works using their personal presence and the environment of our State with courage, leadership, intelligence, compassion, and creativity. Inductees are authors who’ve made a major impact on others with their words. The Authors’ Hall of Fame® recognition endeavors to ensure their legacies never die.

Check out the website, read the criteria for nominations, and think about your favorite Colorado connected in some way authors. All nominations come from the public—why not from you? Nominations for the 2023 Induction will open in August of 2022—the Induction celebration will be held in September of 2023.

I’m honored to be the visionary and founder for the Colorado Authors’ Hall of Fame. I’m thrilled that so many caught my vision to support it including Barnes & Noble, Bernard IP Law, Total Printing Systems, and individuals such as Mara Purl, Dom Testa, Marilyn Van Derbur, and Pat Comiskey.