Monthly Archives: January 2012

Book Publishing: There’s More to Your Book than just a Book

Book Publishing: There’s More to Your Book than just a Book

If you are an author, you have a product that can be morphed to other products. Books have covers. How would it look on a mug? a Tee-shirt? What about a canvas bag or a nifty pin? Illustrations can become products that you sell … are there any in your book? Can they be made into a sellable product that is low price and an add-on to a sale of a book or stand alone? To do this, you need to get permission of the illustrator or have it arranged up front that you own all rights for anything and everything. How about a bookmark that becomes a “tool” vs. just a placeholder?

Your Guide to Book Publishing radio show debuts today, January 5th

Your Guide to Book Publishing radio show debuts today, January 5th

Your Guide to Book Publishing: Everything You Wanted to Know about Publishing and Didn’t Know to Ask radio show is live on Thursday, January 5th on the Rock Star Network at 6 p.m. EST; 5 p.m CST; 4 p.m. MST; 3 p.m. PST. Plan on a fast paced magazine format. Participate live and download the podcast. Join Dr. Judith Briles and her guests: Book Marketing guru’s Penny Sansevieri and Brian Jud along with others for the first show.
Here’s info for online listening: http://rockstarradionetwork.com/shows/yourguidetobookpublishing

And for calling in live and participating: 866-404-6519

Book Publishing … Goodbye 2011 and Hello 2012

Book Publishing … Goodbye 2011 and Hello 2012

he decorations are down, dishes put away and guests departed. It’s time to get back to the author’s work with new passion, a vision that has possibly been tweaked over the Holidays and a commitment that this is the year. Your year.

Starting a book is a major event. Continuing the journey deserves a tap dance or two. Launching it is a firework celebration.